I was reading my friend Heidi’s blog last night and learned that she is practicing an extended plastic fast. Interesting concept, hey? She has committed to not eating anything that comes in either plastic or cans. Have you ever considered going through even a day sans plastic? Practically impossible. Now how about not buying anything that is composed of or contains plastic? A little easier, particularly if you were to practice my method in which I would just not buy anything that day. šŸ˜‰ Would you consider a day in which you avoid anything that is packaged in plastic… Still challenging but a little more doable. Our current American lifestyles are RULED by plastic. What would your life be like if you were to commit to making choices to avoid plastic? Could you do it? For a day? A week? A year? A lifetime? Extreme to say the least. Undoubtedly time consuming. Would you be willing to eliminate certain plastics? Plastic drink bottles for example? Or plastic storage containers? Plastic bags per chance?

I can think of numerous plastic replacements – paper or reusable bags, glass storage containers, metal or glass drink bottles. But how do you buy food? Or drive a car? Options are limited when you rule out plastic. Driving is out of the question unless your car is more than 40 years old. And brushing your teeth? When was the last time you came across a non-plastic toothbrush?!

I am a proponent of balance and am not willing to leaving society to live a plastic free life. I am however interested to considermy choices and am willing to consciously make more of them non-plastic. I admire Heidi’s efforts to practice plastic and can-free food choices. Without significant preplanning it feels near impossible to me… But I’m up for making new choices! In how many ways can I eliminate plastic this week? In how many ways can you?

Where can you eliminate plastic from your life today? Can you choose non-plastic over plastic?

