View From Our Tent

When was the last time you went camping? I know its been awhile for me when I have a hard time remembering….

Maybe it was last July when I stayed at the cabin with Kerry and Brian on Caples Lake? Modified camping I know. I slept on a bed in a cabin, had an outhouse, a gas stove and even an outdoor refrigerator. But we WERE dirty, we bathed in icy lake water and we came home tired, sunburned and bug bitten. Before or since then? I can’t recollect…

With glorious weather this weekend, I decided to begin my birthday celebration in advance. I wanted to enjoy the amazing warm weather. I wanted to get away from my head. I wanted to travel less rather than more. And I wanted to be near the ocean. The result – a gourmet campground north of Santa Cruz with “comfort stations”, “tent platforms”, a camp store that resembled Whole Foods and a restaurant that one might find in my home town. Nice!

We had a campsite with a view of the ocean, amenities that included indoor and outdoor showers, fire places at the comfort stations with giant Adirondack chairs and hot saunas. OK – so this was a new form of camping I hadn’t tried before. I LIKE IT!!! 🙂

We introduced ourselves to our neighbors who were on their first ever camping trip. We explored Costanoa vacation land and the weekend activity itinerary. We set up our tent on the special and perfectly placed tent deck where we reveled in our “best tent site” with the ocean view. We laughed at the stinky horse stables immediately to our right. Later we raced across the street to a beach bathed by silver moonlight and then sauna -ed long after the campground was zzzz-ing away.

How do you like to get away? What do you do to nourish your soul? What inspires and energizes you?

I realize I feel gleeful having healthy adventures. I love to spend time in nature with friends. I love to feel the elements and gaze at natural wonders. I like quiet campgrounds with other respectful campers. I like to move my body, to see and do new things and meet new people. I like to step out of my daily routine and reconnect with myself. A few days away replenished my diminutive spirit. I feel clearer, more joyful and alive. I feel more enthused to create… I feel grateful.

